Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

My first paying customer!!! February 28, 2010

The award goes to Lee! 

Lee, who like my husband has Finnish roots, came up with the great idea that both he and Neighbor Dave should replace their take-out lunches on Tuesdays through Thursdays with home cooked lunches.  Lee is getting the first-time customer discount, in exchange for some blunt feedback on how this is going.

Luckily this idea was incubated at Lyon’s pub, because Dave is particularly susceptible when he has had a few Summit beers.  By the end of the evening on Friday Dave had agreed to change a 16 year tradition of eating out every weekday lunch.  Wow, Lee,  you have the magic sauce!!!

Lunches this week will be:

Tuesday – Pasta with Asparagus, Pancetta bacon, and Pine nuts

Wednesday – Chickpeas with Broccoli and Bacon

Thursday – Beef Rendang (a rich Malay curry) over rice

I’m going to figure out how to post a link to lunch menus, so that you guys can choose to read about them if you want to, but they won’t appear in regular posts.  I’ll get my network administrator to help me with that (Neighbor Dave, again.  He is the source of all things good Best Ever.)

The first dollar will probably be mythically deposited into our checking account, but I’ll have this post to hang on my wall!  Yay!

 

6 Responses to “My first paying customer!!!”

  1. Molly Says:

    The source of all things good? You need an editor.

  2. jennwoo2 Says:

    I respond to my critic (s) 🙂

  3. Lee Hulkonen Says:

    You should remove this picture of me with my sad-face and add a different picture… perhaps me as a centaur?

    You’ll find it on Facebook.

    • jennwoo2 Says:

      I appreciate your idea but I reviewed all of your photos and respectfully find that this is the best one-

      My second favorite was yoda but I don’t think he eats human food!

  4. Awesome!!! Congrats!!! And kudos to Lee & Dave for the willingness to step outside of the box. And let’s not forget to give Lyon’s Pub a little credit, too.

    So fun to see the momentum, Jen! You ROCK! Have fun with this. 🙂

  5. […] to my readers:  This lunch menu and last week’s lunch menu are all based on recipes from the March 2010 Cooking Light magazine.)   Leave a […]


Leave a Reply

