Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

A post on confidence March 12, 2010

I’m here at my kitchen table office, looking at the fantastic and unfortunately empty bottle of 2004 Piattelli Cab from Argentina.  It was cheap when I bought it and delicious when I drank it on Wednesday. 

It’s Friday! 

I’m pushing forward.  I’m in a bit of an uncomfortable spot.  Can you tell?  I’m dragging my feet a bit.  I’m pushing through an exercise for my coaching.  I finished my first draft of our taxes but I’m not happy with them.  It’s foggy.  My upper lip is curled.  Nobody is here to notice it and tell me to pull up my bootstraps and get my a$$ in gear.  I’m not at Starbucks with my friend M.I. to have coffee and get an energy hit (both from the coffee and from her!)

So what do I have to do?  I have to rely on myself.  I need to push myself past this point! 

Stacy from Kitchenwerks and I got together yesterday.  What a joy and delight she is!  She asked me what I’m doing.  I answered, but I know it wasn’t a confident answer.  I threw a question back at her.  When was she so sure of her own business that she quit interviewing?

Her answer: “I still interview.  Every day.”

Each person I meet could be a new client, or a connection to one.  Therefore I need to be able to explain what I do, confidently, every time.  I know I’m on the cusp of it too.  I can tell when I get excited and talk faster and my face lights up (at least it feels like it does) when I’m talking about what I love to do and how I want to do it.

I’m almost there.  I will be confident about it.  Next week.

 

4 Responses to “A post on confidence”

  1. Stacy Klone Says:

    You have brightened my day. Thank you for the mention now put those boots on and get out there. Looking forward to coffee and a full report how how your business is building. Stacy

  2. Carrie Says:

    Jen–as a writer and now stay at home mom, i know how hard it is to work alone when you’re feeling unmotivated! I am so happy for you with this new venture and would be proud and glad to help brainstorm or discuss new ideas. With Kieran and Kyle filling my days with their various needs (some urgent, some silly, some adorable) I don’t have a lot of energy to do much else, but I am GREAT at generating ideas!!!! Let’s have coffee!


Leave a Reply

