Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Storyboards in my Head March 18, 2010

I’ve had a picture floating in my brain for about five days now.  It’s a picture of a Dude or a Gal or a Couple in the middle of a page.  I even had a dream where Lee showed up in the middle of the page – maybe he’s my archetype client.

Yes, I’m disturbed too!  (just kidding Lee!)

It’s the beginning of a storyboard where I work backwards from my “Worklife, Defined.”  I want to be in control, I want to help other people, I want to teach, I want to be creative, I want to relax and enjoy my work.  I Will Be having fun!

So I started from the end.  I pictured Dude Gamer Single Guy as my client.  I chose some description words about him.  I also wrote down what some of his motivations might be.  (Things like sleeping, eating, gaming, having beer, making some money, having fun, meeting girls – or guys as the case may be.)  Then I pictured a couple.  Then a single woman, creating a home and entertaining.

(yep, this happened in bed this morning- notice the fun snow-print flannel sheets)

What do I want to teach them?  What do they want to learn, and why do they want to learn it?  What is valuable to them, what will they be happy to pay for?  I can teach how to have a really great dinner party.  I can teach how to cook dinners for one or for two.  I can teach people who want to stop eating out all of the time, or want to cut down on their fast food.  I can teach about the must-have kitchen tools, pots, pans, utensils and pantry to have a great base to start from.  I can teach how to be guest-ready in an hour- complete with from-scratch appetizer on the table.

Since everything good comes in threes, there is a three-step process and I jotted what those steps would be.  I’m ready to road-test a couple of my concepts!  Cool!

So if you’re in the neighborhood and you’re interested in being a guinea pig, I am going to host a couple of test sessions.  Let me know- drop me an email or comment on this post!  I will probably do a few tests in small groups so the more interest, the better.

I’ll keep you posted!

 

6 Responses to “Storyboards in my Head”

  1. Jennifer Bharucha Says:

    Hi Jen,

    I would love to be a guinea pig for you! I still have to respond to your email from last week which I hope to get to today.
    -Jennifer

  2. Molly Says:

    Umm… yeah, I’ll come for dinner.

  3. […] jennwoo2 @ 2:09 pm Tags: Things I Like This week has been the week of Creativity.  Drawing (see yesterday’s post), Sculpting (this afternoon with miss Deb), Cooking, […]

  4. Lee Hulkonen Says:

    I hope that nervous little bald guy isn’t supposed to be me!

    Just kidding… I know that it’s probably me… dang it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

