Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Business Management 101 April 5, 2010

This post is for all of you aspiring entrepreneurs out there.

I’ve been “practicing positivity” – which does require focus and mind control – since I left Big Corporation 4.  When I decided to do this, I remember my disdain or distrust or disbelief when I met overly optimistic people (before I decided to practice it.)  This juicy happiness must be a sham!

My next course of thought was to examine – if I choose to be happy most of the time, does that mean I don’t have to worry about anything anymore?  Will the bills magically stop coming?  Will the house be perpetually clean?  Do I still have to file my taxes?  When I start my business, will the business take care of itself?  How much does practicing positivity = shirking responsibility?

Nope.  That’s not how it works.

The great news –  I’ve found that when I’m happy, those jobs become more enjoyable than they used to be.  I just generally enjoy everything more.  There’s a better end in the means.  I’m more invested and I can use my time how I wish.  I still want to tie up the loose ends.

I set up an Excel file to maintain information about my business, including tracking costs, invoices, profits, expenses.  It’s nothing too fancy.  It’s still business paperwork that needs to be done.  I actually kind of like managing the business!  If you start your own business, know you’ll be the manager, the ideator, the doer, the salesperson.  You’ll do it all.

(if you want any ideas about how to use Excel for your own startup, contact me.  I’m happy to pay forward what I’ve learned both over my years in business as well as recently from other entrepreneurs.)

And, if you’re like me, you’ll like it, too.

P.S.: check out last Friday’s “Tripping on the Ladder” Diary Entry about Saying Hello!

 

2 Responses to “Business Management 101”

  1. Stacy Klone Says:

    It is just this attitude that will bring your business dreams to reality!

    Keep reaching and strechting-you can always go futher……
    Stacy


Leave a Reply

