Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

A Teaching and Learning Week April 30, 2010

This week has been great fun.  It’s all yin and yang, back and forth.  Boomerang: throw it out there, it comes back to you.

Teach and Learn.

On Tuesday, I took the Grocery Shopping Class (led by the lovely Stacy Klone) at Byerly’s in Ridgedale.  Lee, my first paying customer, accompanied me- I wanted to pick his brain and find out what he thought about the class and what else he might want to learn as a client in the demographic I want to serve.

What a gift the class was!  I left with an important, easy rule of thumb: “if it wasn’t around 100 years ago, don’t buy it.”  Stacy gave us great tips on how to pick the best produce and seafood (from her extensive background as a food merchant); interspersed with personal stories about her weight loss journey.  I learned a lot, as did Lee- so much that we “had to go out for a beer afterward” to compare notes and make sure we had heard everything.  Lee is busy preparing for his month of hell I mean P90X- the Shopping class couldn’t have come at a better time for him, as the P90X program requires a nutrition plan that goes back to basics… whole grains, protein, and natural foods.  Thanks a million to Stacy for modeling great teaching.

On Wednesday, I graduated my first Crash Course Dinner Party class!  Guess what they got (it’s our first Catalyst Pop Quiz)?

What a milestone!  My first class!  I’m so proud- of Sarah, MI, Cathy and Terri for their willingness to take a risk and take my first class; of me for having the guts to put it out there and work through the nervousness and turn into a confident teacher; and of Neighbor Dave (as well as too many friends & family to count) for supporting me.  Thanks so much for helping me to make it happen!

At the end, I heard affirming words- that the class provided “practical solutions and advice that gave me confidence” – and that I “put the fun into cooking and entertaining”- Voila!  Exactly what I was hoping for!  WOOT!

Yesterday, I took that confidence on the road to the monthly Women Who Really Cook gathering, hosted by the fun and effervescent Lisa at QKindness Cafe.  I got to meet Sue Zelickson- she is a gem- we had the chance to go ’round the room and share what we do, and Sue demonstrated her natural gift to be a cheerleader.  She has that natural Catalyst quality to make things happen and connect people who can help each other.  I met some very cool ladies yesterday and left feeling really pumped- both to receive help and to provide it where I can.  There is nothing better!

Give and Take.

And the answer to the pop quiz: It’s the best tool in the kitchen to apply your skills and make things happen!

WHISKs!

 

2 Responses to “A Teaching and Learning Week”

  1. Jen,
    I’m having so much fun watching your exciting journey unfold. Your passion, your zest for life, and your commitment to ‘enjoying’ life constantly amazes me. I feel so blessed to know you and call you “friend.” 🙂
    Love ya!
    Michelle


Leave a Reply

