Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

The Making of the Burgers May 11, 2010

Applegate Farms Turkey Burgers - Yum!

Yesterday, I made Burgers Mexicanos for Lunch (since I had ripe avocadoes and tomatoes to use.)  

Ready for the grill

I get to preview the lunch!

I love homemade bread, and I love to spoil the lunch bunch.  So when I got up yesterday morning, the first thing I did was start the buns for the bread.  I looked up a recipe and ended up making some significant adaptions to make it work. 

By the way- don’t be scared of making bread.  It’s really fun and easy.  And it’s not expensive if you mess up, because it’s only flour, water, and yeast.  I always keep a jar of bread yeast in my refrigerator.  As long as you have flour and yeast on hand, you are ready to make bread- anytime.  (If you are interested in a bread class, I’m thinking of doing one on a Saturday or Sunday- because it does take a little time.  We could do brunch together!  Leave me a note or email and let me know if that sounds cool to you!)

Here is the recipe:

Homemade Hamburger Buns (heavily adapted from Sally’s Place recipe)

1 cups all-purpose flour (plus additional wheat flour for kneading) 
3 T toasted wheat bran (because I didn’t have wheat germ) 
1 T active dry yeast 
1/2 teaspoon sea salt 
2/3 cups warm (~110 degree) water
1 T sugar
1/4 cup olive oil (I think I would omit this or use only a little next time.)

Add the yeast and sugar to the warm water, allow to stand 5 minutes until it bubbles a bit.

Add the all purpose flour, wheat bran and salt to this mixture and stir with a wooden spoon.

Turn out the dough onto the counter and knead for 8 minutes (sprinkle a little olive oil if you prefer) and add wheat flour as necessary to keep the dough from sticking to your hands or the counter.  The dough should be elastic. 

Allow dough to rise for about an hour in a warm, draft free place (I use a glass bowl covered with a damp towel and put it in the oven, which I preheat to 100 degrees).

Punch down the dough and cover, allow to rest 5 minutes.

Shape the dough into a tube.  Cut into 5 equal pieces.  Put into a pan to rise into buns, Like this: 
 

Second rise of the burger buns. I put the pan on a cloth so that the pan doesn't get too hot.

Allow to rise for another 30 minutes.  Remove them from the oven (if that is where they are rising) and preheat to 375, for 20 minutes.  Place the buns in the oven (ha!) and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until they are golden and sound hollow when tapped.

 

2 Responses to “The Making of the Burgers”

  1. Angelina Says:

    Chris and I would definately sign up for a bread class, we want to learn how to make that wonderful crusty french bread!

    • Jen Antila Says:

      Awesome! I’d love to have you (and anybody that wants to start having fun with breadmaking)! I set up a class… check out the Catalyst Cooks FB page!


Leave a Reply

