Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

For the Love of Bacon May 12, 2010

MMMM. Bacon.

Any of you out there look longingly at the packages of bacon in the grocery store, and think, “unless I invite people over, I can’t buy this, because I’ll eat the whole darn package and it’s way too much for just me?”

Yeah.  That was me too.

But I was bound and determined to figure a way out of this Bacon Conundrum – I was a single gal, living alone, loving it, and Wanting.  Bacon.  Dammit.

You have the awesome opportunity to learn my tried-and-true trick on how to have your Bacon, and Eat it too (in reasonable serving sizes.)

First: Roll the Bacon into serving-sized bundles. (I roll two slices at a time.)

2. Ready for the next step. Always use a plastic cutting board to work with raw meat. I dedicate one of my cutting boards to raw meats only, to avoid cross-contamination.

3. I put the bacon in two plastic baggies. Air is your enemy in the freezer- squeeze out as much as you can!

4. Freeze and Voila- Two slices of Bacon - perfect for one person!

The bacon thaws very quickly.  I try to use all of the frozen bacon within one month.
Another tip: the way to get into a dude’s heart is through his stomach.  What they forgot to tell you is that the stomach REALLY responds to bacon. 
Isn’t it about time you brought more bacon into your life?  🙂
 

One Response to “For the Love of Bacon”


Leave a Reply

