Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Samosas: It’s all in the Packaging May 13, 2010

I like to live a bit dangerously, a bit on the edge.  I like surprises and I like getting out of routines. 

In cooking this means- always try something new!  It’s rare that I break out my tried-and-true specialty recipes.  Instead, I like making something I’ve never done before.  My Lunch Bunch is the (hopefully mostly happy) recipients of my newest cooking follies.

Yesterday I was feeling East Indian, and made Samosas- a traditional savory pastry which challenge a cook’s creativity with their infinite variations.  What fun! 

I didn’t stray too far from the original vegetarian recipe (adapted from the May 2008 Cooking Light).  I decided to add meat (ground chuck), then put in the carrots/onions/garlic/potatoes/peas and added fun flavors like Cumin, Coriander, Cinnamon, Tumeric and Fresh Ginger to give the filling a pop.

You can imagine that this filling, with its wonderful smell and heavenly taste, wasn’t graced with good looks.  That’s why it’s so important to put it into an attractive package!  After making a few mistakes, here is what the phyllo-wrapped Samosas ended up looking like.

And then for the coup-de-gras:

Take-out boxes (a happy accidental find at United Noodle off of East Lake Street- a couple of bucks for 6 boxes.) 

I included some Mint Raita dipping sauce at the bottom of each package (made of sour cream and fresh mint leaves.)

See?  It’s all in the Packaging!

 

2 Responses to “Samosas: It’s all in the Packaging”

  1. Debra Dallin Says:

    You do all that over there!? Yummm. Call me when you make too much or want me to help you taste test.


Leave a Reply

