Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Tis the Season (for Fruit Salsa) May 25, 2010

I’m a big fan of seasonal cooking.

Meaning: I love to cook based on what’s in season.

I think this really kicked in for me when I first joined a local farm CSA (Community Supported Agriculture, see my post here.)

I noticed a correlation – the produce I got from my farmer was also the produce on sale at the market and also had a great flavor-

Coincidence?  I don’t think so!

Strawberry abundance + Grilling weather = Fruit Salsa (to accompany grilled pork!  Perfect!) 

The Fruit and Vegetable Bath

First, I wash my fruit as soon as I get home from the market. 

I use cool water and a bit of dish soap (I like Meyers) and soak the fruits and veggies for a few minutes. 

I also gently scrub the ones with firm surfaces (think peppers or apples) with a vegetable brush.

Yesterday, when the fruits were done bathing, I dried them off with a clean dish towel and organized them on my cutting board.

Then I opened my bottle of Parley Lake Winery Chardonnay, the perfect partner for the spiced pork and fruit salsa… and cooking companion too!

Fruits ready to be sals-i-fied!

For this version of fruit salsa, I used:

1/2 Melon

1/3 Red Onion

6 large strawberries

1/4 cucumber

1 jalapeno

1 lime

1/2 T Agave Nectar

Dried Basil & Mint to taste (or you can use fresh, but I didn’t have any)

A bit of salt

First, I de-seeded the cucumber and jalapeno and melon.

Next, I chopped the fruits into small pieces (make sure not to include the skin of the cucumber or melon!)

I selected a pretty bowl to show off the vibrant colors of the ingredients. 

I don’t use metal as a general rule with foods that are acidic, as it may impart a metallic taste into the food.

I chose a white antique bowl from a set I got from my Grandma, via my mom. 

I love these dishes, they are so simple and elegant!

Next, I squeezed the lime juice onto the salsa.

Finally… after the lime juice was added, I squeezed the Agave Nectar over the salsa and sprinkled the top with a bit of salt, dried mint, and dried basil. 

I’ll leave the basil and mint on the top until it’s served, because it adds a bit of dimension to the appearance. 

When I serve it, I’ll mix it together and put it on the plate as a side for grilled pork tenderloin or pork chops. 

I figure it will make about 6 servings.  Once you’ve made it, please refrigerate- you can store it for a couple of days.

To adjust for fewer people, I would use a different fruit instead of the melon, or buy one of the small containers with a pre-chopped single helping of melon.

Yum!

Fruit Salsa! Perfect as a side for pork or other grilled meat.

 

10 Responses to “Tis the Season (for Fruit Salsa)”

  1. This blog posts shouts “SUMMER!” Oh man, my mouth was watering just looking at the photos and reading the recipes. You continue to do such amazing work, Jen. This might sounds weird, but I kinda feel like the world’s mouth is watering, too, in anticipation of all the good things you’re bringing to the table (no pun intended). Keep on rockin’!!!

  2. Molly Says:

    Huh… a set of bowls you got from grandma, via mom…

  3. Jen Antila Says:

    Sistah- you know I love you! Sometimes, though… you are a pain in the buttinski.

  4. Molly Says:

    I wouldn’t make a very good little sister if I weren’t. XOXO

  5. Sally Mendez Says:

    If only more people would hear this..

  6. Kristin Buchanan Says:

    Haha I am literally the only reply to this amazing article?

  7. Patrick Evans Says:

    Wow I’m really the only reply to this incredible read!

  8. Francesca Hoang Says:

    If I had a dollar for every time I came to jenthecatalyst.wordpress.com.. Great article!

  9. […] soon as I get these babies home, I bathe them and let them […]


Leave a Reply

