Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Make Hummus (or hummous, as you like) from scratch June 3, 2010

I love to have business meetings at my house.  We get the panoramic view of what’s happening on the street, in the backyard, and at the neighbor’s from my office.

Yesterday I was lucky to host Faith, wellness coach and woman of action!  We shared some stories, brainstormed some ideas (look for a Catalyst Cooks collaboration coming soon!), ate lunch…. and stumbled on a recurring theme that I need to personally remind myself of pretty often.

That is- I forget my life before I learned how to cook.

I forget how I didn’t know how to grocery shop for healthy, basic foods.  I forget that I didn’t know how to plan a menu for my week.  I forget that I didn’t know what saute means!

I also forget how I used to buy pre-made things because I didn’t know how to make them.  Since then I’ve learned- making a lot of things is pretty fun.  and, once you get the hang of it, pretty easy too!

So today, I’ll cover something easy to make, that I used to buy (a lot).  Hummus.

Hummus starts with Garbanzo beans

The main ingredient in hummus is garbanzo beans (also known as chickpeas). 

I used to always buy the canned version.

I learned that canned Garbanzos can be found in multiple places in my grocery store, but that they are cheapest in the Mexican section of the store.

Now, I’m started to buy the dry beans.  That just requires a bit more planning, because then I soak the beans overnight. 

The benefit of using canned beans is that they are immediately ready when you are- just rinse and drain.

However, the dried beans are cheaper.  I can take out and soak just the quantity I want-  Sometimes I may want hummus just for me.

Next step is the garlic.

I like to use fresh garlic, always. 

Although the minced fresh garlic in the jar is a close second.

I *love* garlic and like to use a lot of it when I make hummus- maybe four of the larger cloves for a can of garbanzo beans.

I press each clove through my garlic press to make sure it’s minced evenly and well, although it would work fine to mince it by hand. 

Other ingredients (I assume you are using a can of chickpeas):

The juice of a lemon (be sure to reserve a slice from the middle for garnish)

a bit (1.5 Tablespoons) of Tahini (sesame seed paste- I use a couple teaspoons of peanut butter as a cheat substitute since I don’t have tahini around)

olive oil- for richer hummus, use 1/4 Cup.  For lighter hummus, use a couple of tablespoons and then add 1/4 Cup water or plain yogurt (I use fat free yogurt- I like to drain it first in a strainer over a clean paper towel to remove as much liquid as possible)

salt and pepper to taste – I use just a pinch

You can increase the amount of fat-free plain yogurt, which increases the volume of the hummus and reduces each serving’s calories.

Put everything in your food processor and pulse/blend it to your desired consistency.

I like to add a bit of paprika and my reserved lemon slice on the top of my hummus to “dress it up.”

Serve with pita triangles, cut vegetables (instead of dip), crackers… and be ready for a yummy, garlic-infused treat!

This recipe makes approximately 20 ounces of hummus.  Enjoy with friends!

And don’t forget the wine… this hummus is flexible enough to pair with just about anything.  I like it with Parley Lake Winery’s Frontenac Rosso, and I find that the chickpea and tahini allows the cherry-fruit and tobacco notes in the wine to shine.

 

5 Responses to “Make Hummus (or hummous, as you like) from scratch”

  1. Molly Says:

    Have you tried greek yogurt instead? Way thicker, like regular sour cream, and can still get it fat free…

    • Jen Antila Says:

      That is a really good idea… what is the cost difference, do you know?

      • Molly Says:

        Greek yogurt isn’t cheap, but you can get it at Target, i think even in pretty big sizes. It tastes SO good, and works SO well, that the quality is worth the price.

  2. […] For example, this morning I put my Red Pepper Tapenade together with my Hummus. […]

  3. […] remember the post about the Hummus, or the post about the Roasted Red Pepper spread… now comes their famous cousin in crime, […]


Leave a Reply

