Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Morning Coffee Meeting, Take II June 12, 2010

The last time I wrote about a morning coffee meeting, I was covering up.  Well, I still love to host people for coffee and I still am a procrastinator and I still don’t want to go to the grocery store if I don’t have to so I still scrounge around for ingredients to whip together into something fancy for my coffee guests.

Whew.

Nga was coming over so we could compare stories on what’s up with us… she’s doing Mindful Innovation, and her greatest joy comes from watching others do things they never thought they could do.  I’m the perfect playground for that topic right now!  We talked ideas, applying process to creativity, and she gave me some great tips on how to think about communicating what Catalyst Cooks does and how to think about my ideal customers and market.  Thanks Nga!!!

Now, of course, she didn’t know how I was scrambling before she came over at 9:30 in the morning….

HOUR ONE.  Get up.  Shower.  Get dressed.  Walk Neighbor Dave and the Dog to the bus stop.  Wave goodbye.

HOUR TWO.  Scratch head.   Look in pantry.  Look in garden.  Look in refrigerator.  Figure out what the H-E-double hockey sticks is around to make.  Make it.

HOUR THREE.  Set the table.  Make kitchen look presentable after the hurricane of whipping together a bunch of stuff.  Make coffee.  Stash crap in the dining room buffet.  Recycle old newspapers and mail.  Stuff unopened mail in Neighbor Dave’s drawer.  Vacuum.

Doorbell rings.  Guess what?  I was ready!

The best part?

Walnut Butter!

I wanted to make my own peanut butter.  I looked up some recipes online, and they all called for peanut oil.

I didn’t have peanut oil but I did have walnut oil so I decided to go for walnut butter instead.

I toasted my walnut pieces in my cast iron skillet.  I’m not sure how much I had, I used what I had left.

I put them in my food processor with a bit of Walnut oil, a tablespoon of Upper Peninsula Michigan honey (although probably any honey would do), and a pinch of kosher salt.

I processed it until it was smooth.  I had to add a bit of oil to the mixture to get it to the right texture.

It was pretty awesome.  Not like peanut butter, because it had that rich walnut taste.  It was fresh and nutty and toasty and a bit warm and yummy and gooey.  And I could make just enough for our breakfast.

I love cooking.  Have I mentioned that?

 

One Response to “Morning Coffee Meeting, Take II”

  1. […] I like pine nuts, walnuts, almonds, and spanish peanuts- toast them for salad toppings, make peanut or other nut butter (instead of buying a big container), use them in breads and […]


Leave a Reply

