Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Appetizer Spread Number 3: Olive Tapenade June 17, 2010

 

 

You remember the post about the Hummus, or the post about the Roasted Red Pepper spread… now comes their famous cousin in crime, Olive Tapenade!

If you make all three spreads, it’s a lovely trio to serve your guests over wine, beer, before dinner- or for youself as a late night snack! 

Thanks to Sarah for the inspiration!

Olive Tapenade is the easiest recipe… and it’s also a crowd favorite. 

When I serve this Tapenade as part of a trio of spreads, it’s always the first to go. 

May have something to do with the fact that this is a recipe to make 3 ounces of tapenade-

since it takes less to get that full, complex, rich flavor.  MMMMM.

Start with very simple ingredients…

Kalamata Olives, Capers, Olive Oil, and fresh squeezed Lemon Juice- as well as salt and pepper to taste.

First, get out your 20 Kalamata olives (it’s easiest if they are pitted, but mine were not, so I removed the seeds myself.) 

To pit an olive, cut it in half near the seed and then squeeze the olive. The seed will come right out.

20 pitted olives weighs roughly two ounces.

As a side note- I do have a kitchen scale, which you can buy for as little as $5.  It’s definitely worth the money.

I’ve found that many recipes include weight equivalents in grams or ounces, which is especially handy when you’re baking.

For this recipe, it means I don’t have to count olives anymore… I just weigh them and move on!

Next, coarsely chop the olives with a knife.  Or, you can throw them in the food processor if you wish- it’s faster.

Add 1 Tablespoon of rinsed, drained, and chopped Capers.

Put into your serving bowl- I like to use my little ramekins.

Squeeze in one teaspoon of fresh lemon juice, and add 2 teaspoons of olive oil.

If it’s not quite the consistency you like, add more!

Salt and pepper to taste (I don’t add salt, as I find the olives are more than salty enough for me.)

Mix – Serve – ENJOY!  (This makes about 3 ounces of tapenade.)

I paired my tapenade with a medium-bodied red wine, Parley Lake Winery’s Marquette.  Its oak aged earthiness was enhanced by the rich, salty, mediterranean black olive tapenade.

 

Leave a Reply

