Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Grilled Shrimp Kebabs, and how to cut a Pineapple June 22, 2010

For the Lunch Bunch today, you’ll be getting a summer special: Grilled Shrimp Kebabs with onion and fresh pineapple, served over rice with a sprig of cilantro.

I started with Soy, Rice Vinegar, and Sesame Oil.

Mixed them together (roughly 2 parts oil to 1 part vinegar and 1 part soy),

and used it as a marinade with precooked, frozen shrimp. 

They “hung out” together all day.

Pineapple and Onion were destined to join the Shrimp on the Kebabs.

(If you do a Google Search on Shrimp, Pineapple, and Onion, you’ll get over 1 million hits!)

The pineapple and onion carmelize on the grill. 

The pineapple provides sweet acidity and the onion, a crunch.

The shrimp adds a firm, buttery, briny addition- and the soy sauce/vinegar/sesame bring it together.

Sweet, sour, salty, bitter; crunchy and firm vs softer and “melt in your mouth.”

I prepared the pineapple to cut it.

First: Cut the top and the bottom off of the pineapple.

Second: Cut the sides from the pineapple.

Third: Only the good pineapple is left. 

I like the core, some do not. 

If you don’t like it, cut the pineapple in 4 parts (the long way), and cut the core from the tips.

I cut my pineapple the short way.

Next I got the kebab makings ready to go.

I sliced the onion into eighths and got the marinating shrimp out of the fridge.

I made sure my skewers were washed and clean.

I strung up the kebabs.

Voila!  Grilled Shrimp Kebabs.

Yum.

 

3 Responses to “Grilled Shrimp Kebabs, and how to cut a Pineapple”

  1. Tes Says:

    I love your pineapple cutting technique. The kebab sounds yummy. Thanks for sharing.

    • Jen Antila Says:

      Thanks Tes! I love fresh pineapple, so I almost hate buying the canned version when it’s so easy to get the “real thing.” If I have leftovers, I make pineapple upside down cake… yum!

  2. OMG, my mouth is totally watering. Love your blog, Jen! Personal, fun, professional, enticing, and makes me hungry. All the right ingredients!


Leave a Reply

