Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Kansas City – Oh How I love your BBQ July 20, 2010

I had the pleasure of cooking lunch for some fine dudes and dudettes today, after a two week respite.

I wanted to do something really special.  And Kansas City BBQ jumped right off the pages of my July 2007 Cooking Light.  I adapted a few recipes and Lunch Buddies- hope you love them tomorrow as much as I loved them today.

To get ready, I soaked 4 Cups of Hickory Wood chips- all morning, probably a total of 4 hours (though you only really need one hour.)

I bought 12 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs. 

I made a dry rub:

1/4 C paprika

2 T ground black pepper

1 T dark brown sugar

2 t Kosher Salt

2 t Garlic powder

1.5 t Chili powder

1/2 t Celery Salt

And mixed all of that together to rub under the skin of the chicken.  I set about 1/4 cup aside for my potato salad.

The chicken sat in its beautiful, red-hued rub for 30 minutes on the counter.

Meanwhile, I got the grill ready to go. 

I took the hickory chips out of their bath (reserved the water) and put them in some heavy tinfoil, which I had cut holes into.

Then I put 2 cups of the reserved water into an aluminum pan.

These go side by side directly on the coals, after the grill racks have been removed, and before you turn it on (if you use a gas grill.  Obviously it’s harder to start coals if there is a bunch of stuff on them already.)

I put the grill racks on and fetched my chicken.  I put all of the chicken on the grill above the water pan- this is what’s called an “indirect heating method.”

The hickory chips created some awesome smoke.  See!

I left the chicken alone out there for 45 minutes, under a closed grill lid. 

After 45 minutes had passed, I replenished the hickory wood chips with the ones I had set aside.

I turned the chicken over.

I left it alone for another 30 to 45 minutes.

While I was waiting for the chicken to finish, I whipped up some potato salad.

When I came back outside to check the temperature (and make sure the thighs were at 165 degreees F internal temperature)-

I found these Barbequed goodies!

Once they hit 165, I took the chicken off the grill.

And let them be by themselves for ten minutes.

Once they were not too hot to touch, I took the skins off of them and plated them.

With some homemade BBQ sauce I whipped up.

(Bring to boil, and them simmer for a half hour, the following ingredients:

1 C ketchup, 1 C water, 1/3 C Cider vinegar, 1/4 C dark brown sugar, 1 T onion powder, 1 T chili powder, 1 T black pepper, 1 T molasses, pinch celery seed, pinch liquid smoke).

It was delicious.

And I’d be lying to you if I didn’t tell you that I enjoyed my lunch with a glass of Parley Lake Winery’s Chardonnay – just cool enough to prepare my tongue for the tangy BBQ sauce; just oaky enough to enhance the hickory smoked flavor of the chicken, just fruity enough to mingle with the chicken’s spice rub.  Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

