Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

August Lunches August 25, 2010

I was talking with a lovely woman named Ketti at Parley Lake Winery the other day.

We found out that we both love cooking and teaching.  She asked me if I make up my own recipes.

Somehow I always get a little embarassed by this question.  No, I don’t really make up stuff out of the air.

So I confessed.  Yes, I am a Cooking Light junkie.

She smiled.  She is a Gourmet gal.

Thank god (I thought)- I’m not the only cook out there that uses recipes as a starting point!

I usually don’t stick with the recipe.  I always put my own twist on it (whether it’s because I forgot something at the store, or used it yesterday by accident, or because I wasn’t planning on making that but it sure did sound good.)

In any case, the past couple of weeks have been all Cooking Light August 2006, all the time.  Plus a couple of miscellaneous things thrown in.

We’ve had-

Dry-rubbed, smoked Pork Ribs with potato salad

Homemade Fetuccine with a lightened spinach cream sauce (instead of using whole cream, I mocked up a cream sauce using Neufchatel, flour, and a bit of half-and-half)

Summer Rice salad (with tuna, yellow & red bell peppers, eggplant, and peas)

Mediterranean Summer vegetable pasta, including grilled summer squash, eggplant, tomatoes and kalamata olives

TODAY I am especially proud of the Pea risotto with homemade Corn broth (using corn from my CSA), and a swirl of special vinaigrette on the top.  So sweet!  So rich!  So yummy!

I hope the guys appreciate it as much as I did yesterday.  That corn broth was awesome.

Tomorrow? Pork chops served with Minnesota Grape wine preserves.  Can’t wait.

 

Leave a Reply

