Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Not the Sharpest Knife in the Drawer… April 27, 2011

But we can fix that!!!

I’ve been taking some time away from the blog, in order to make my knife a little sharper- literally and figuratively.

I’m “getting a taste” of life in the kitchen.  I knew how to put together a mean dinner party before… but now I’m learning how to do it the way the chefs do it. 

The biggest area for improvement, which my awesome boss Mary has taught me me is: KNIFE SKILLS.

I had no idea after all of these years I’ve been cooking~

that it was possible to learn a simple skill to make cooking easier, faster, and more precise which yields better results.

“This is something we should be teaching our kids as soon as they learn how to hold a knife!!!”

(how did I go 40 years without knowing?)

I’ve learned that the Santoku is no longer my favorite knife.

My knife style was less controlled then, and the Santoku was so great for that.

But now my style is more controlled, and I have fallen in love with my first chef’s knife, a gift from my mom long ago.

It wasn’t sharp when I started at Cooks of Crocus Hill. 

(do you know how to test this yourself?  – put your knife blade on your thumbnail without applying pressure.  If the blade slides on your nail, it isn’t sharp.  If it is, it will stay in one place.  My chef’s knife easily slid down my nail, all the way!)

Mary has also taught me how to sharpen my knives using a sharpening stone and some water.

So if any of my cooking friends out there want a sharp knife in their drawer- I’m looking for some practice!

 

One Response to “Not the Sharpest Knife in the Drawer…”

  1. Katie Kloos Says:

    I’d love to have you come sharpen my knives! I miss you!


Leave a Reply

