Catalyst Cooks

Make. Food. Happen!

Enjoy Fall! Quick Homemade Applesauce Recipe October 10, 2011

What to do with those ugly-but-good apples?  Get a great piece of pork and make some applesauce to go with it!

I went to my friend Rebekah’s last week to finalize the new Catalyst Cooks mark and design.  I can’t wait to share a new, action-oriented, fun logo with you in the near future… as well as a new website.  Coming soon!

Anyway, Rebekah had received a bag full of apples that weren’t quite crunchy enough to eat, too marked up to have in a pretty bowl, too quick to brown to cut up and take in a baggie for lunch.  In other words, just perfect for making applesauce.

I used an apple slicer to cut the apples into uniform sizes,    

and then quickly cut the peel off each piece with a very sharp paring knife.

I put the apple slices in a Dutch Oven pot, and liberally sprinkled sugar over the apples and allowed them to macerate in the sugar and their own juices.

After some time had passed (15-30 minutes or longer), I squeezed some fresh lemon juice on the apples (enough to just cover the bottom of the pot) and brought the liquid to a boil over a high flame on the stovetop.  After the liquid was boiling, I reduced the heat to a very low simmer, covered the pot, and let the apples break down for another 15-30 minutes.

  I then increased the heat again to high, and added enough Parley Lake Kay Gray wine to cover the bottom of the pot, and brought it to a boil.  I left the pot uncovered and reduced the heat to low/simmer until the apples had really broken down.

At this point all I had to do was mix the apples all together and add some spices.  I especially appreciated pairing the apples with chai spices – cinnamon, cardamom, cloves – to give the applesauce a bit of kick when I’m pairing it with pork.

I like to taste along the way, and add adjustments to bring the applesauce to my taste… sugar, salt; spices, lemon juice… and when it was close, I heated up my cast iron pan and flash fried the pork chops (simply seasoned in salt and pepper) from Braucher’s meats at the Kingfield farmer’s market.

Nothing like a fun fall plate to bring the harvest to my table! 

 

Leave a Reply

